Jordan‚ Lithuania‚ Chile‚ Chad‚ and Nigeria- New members of UNSC

Founder Editor Tazeen Akhtar..

NEW YORK (Monitoring Desk - DNA) Jordan‚ Lithuania‚ Chile‚ Chad‚ and Nigeria have become non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council.
The incoming members replaced Pakistan‚ Azerbaijan‚ Guatemala‚ Morocco and Togo‚ whose two-year terms have expired.

The seats for the ten non-permanent members are filled from regional groupings for two-year terms. Five are replaced every year.

During its tenure on the Security Council‚ the Pakistan delegation‚ led by Ambassador Masood Khan‚ made significant contribution towards efforts to forge consensus and bridge differences in the course of deliberations on key issues before the Council.

Ambassador Masood Khan presided over the Council in January 2013‚ during which two important open debates on counter-terrorism and UN peacekeeping operations were organized.

02 Jan 2013